fbpx Skip to main content

Northern Ireland Road Safety Champions honoured!

By 23rd November 2018 January 5th, 2021 News, Road Safety
NI Road safety awards

Northern Ireland’s road safety champions were officially recognised today (Friday 23rd November 2018) for their contribution to helping improve safety in their communities.

The winners at Northern Ireland’s Road Safety Awards 2018 included individuals, organisations and special projects from across the voluntary, education, emergency service and business sectors.

The awards, now in their fourth year, are organised by Road Safe NI Charity and leading accident management specialist, CRASH Services.  A total of 14 awards were presented at an event attended by more than 100 specially invited guests at Cultra Manor, Holywood.

Pat Martin MBE, Chairperson of Road Safe NI said “We had a fantastic response to the awards again.  There is such a vibrant and committed road safety community working all over Northern Ireland.  We are delighted to play our part in recognising those who go the extra mile.   The winning entries really stood out for their efforts over a long period of time and for delivering innovative projects.

“There is so much good work going on across our schools, local communities, emergency services and businesses.  The award winners are an inspiration to others and there is no question that their efforts are saving lives on the road. 

Jonathan McKeown, CEO of CRASH Services, said: “As a business with close connections to road users we are honoured to support the NI Road Safety Awards 2018.  We congratulate everyone for their extraordinary commitment to road safety. 


Winners across the various categories were Moorfields Primary School, Ballymena  (Primary School), Michael Feeney, Greenhaw PS, Derry/ Londondery (Lollipop Person), St.Patrick’s Grammar School, Downpatrick (Secondary School), Danny Toland (Driving Instructor), NIFRS Station Officer Peter Melarkey, Inspector Andrew Wilson and Constable Syd Henry (Emergency Services), Rita Bentley, Newry and Barry McGuigan, Lurgan (Voluntary Sector), Musgrave Truck Safe (HGV), Translink Safety Bus (Business), Air Ambulance Northern Ireland – (Special Merit), UGP Motorcycle Awareness Project 2018 (Two Wheels) and Brian McMinn (Lifetime Achievement).

There were also six highly commended entries who will each receive a framed certificate. 


Category sponsors included the Department for Infrastructure, U105, New Driver NI, Hankook Tyres, Applegreen, JMK Solicitors and Drive Tech, part of the AA and TCTS Group

For more information on the Road Safety Awards 2018 please visit roadsafeni.com

For more news, tips and advice see our latest news section.

Translate »